top of page

Fat vs. BBW

Let’s Talk About Kurves Baby…

Hello Kurvy Queens!

I was wondering, what is your perspective on Fat vs. BBW?

Usually when someone is called fat, it has a negative connotation. People think she is lazy and does not care about herself, that she even sits around and eats large amounts of food all day.

Now when someone hears the phrase Big Beautiful Women (BBW) you think of a voluptuous, kurvy, confident, sexy woman who loves everything about herself and is desirable.

I honestly have applied both terms to myself. When I applied the term fat, I really was upset at my weight gain, most recently due to medications I was placed on due to previous health challenges. I thought I was really cute this one particular day, and then…I saw my side profile in this outfit and changed my clothes! Can anyone relate?

On the flip side, I have said I am a voluptuous woman with so much to give. I am confident when I see myself as a BBW, and not so much when I just feel fat. The interesting thing is most people don’t see me as fat, I just have big hips, hence the term, “The Sultry Hipster”. I decided that no matter what my size, I am beautiful and kurvy. I cut my hair, changed the color, and wear my beautiful jewelry which enhances this BBW even more! What do you do to feel sexy and confident as a BBW? What makes you feel like you are just fat or does anything make you feel fat?

It’s all about perspective. A woman could be a size 2 and think she is fat, whereas a woman who is a size 24, thinks she is super sexy. It’s all about perspective. It is how you see yourself, how you carry yourself, and how you present yourself that determines how people will treat you and what you will accept from others.

Hit me back and Let’s Talk About Kurves Baby, What’s your perspective on Fat vs. BBW?

The Sultry Hipster






51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page